Where can you take your own alcohol?

Guest dinthepark

This is my first time going to Glastonbury although I've plenty of experience going to other festivals in Scotland. The ones here you can take your own alcohol but it can only be drank in the campsite, they don't allow you to take it into the arena to watch bands.

Is this the same at Glastonbury? Or can you take your own drink with you anywhere?

Backpack is handy for carrying cans. If you're going to be in the same place for a while you might take a coolbag. Some folk put wine or spirit and mixers in a camelback. Anything goes - except no glass is allowed!

Drinks are expensive at Glasto although there is a lots of choice. Some people take all their booze with them, others mix and match. I like to take some wine and spirits with me, then I buy cold mixers from the general stores and the odd cold cider from the bars. Works a treat.

It makes for a long hard day to have stuff in a shoulder bag. I'd recommend a rucksack to spread the weight, and keep cans in the lockup till I pick them up. Travelling light, and a plastic bottle to fill at the water points. I wasn't going to queue for the Guardian bag, but I got several Yeo Valley bags as presents. Yeah, I'm all heart.

• 3 weeks later...

Don't compare Glasto to arena festivals - once you are in you're in. The only exceptions are the campervan fields, which are outside the main festival perimeter and you have to pass in and out each day. Which means you've got to be careful to look after your ticket and run the risk of being searched each time you go in.

You won't be troubled if you want to take in booze but be aware if you're carrying any illegal substances.

Edited by grumpyhack