Hawkwind to replace U2

Guest Bloke down the pub

They can light up my night sky any day!

I like this bit ' U2 manager Paul McGuinness rejected the protestors' accusations, insisting that "U2 is a global business and it pays taxes globally". "At least 95% of U2's business ... takes place outside of Ireland and as a result the band pays many different kinds of taxes all over the world," he told the Belfast Telegraph.

The band are "personal investors and employers" in Ireland, McGuinness said, but "like any other business, U2 operates in a tax-efficient manner".

I have to point out here that I used to be a Tax Inspector in the Special Office { which was the Inland Revenues Serious Fraud Office } but never dealt with U2's accounts but have dealt with many famous bands.{ but cant list them here as I am still bound by the official secrets act }

The Stones Tax avoidance scheme { evasion is illegal - avoidance is not } used to be used when training new Tax Inspectors as they were the first major UK group to employ a Dutch Company over in the Dutch Antilles { in the Caribbean Sea } so I am not breaking any official secrets as its well known in the tax community and in fact they paved the way for many other famous bands to do the same.

As far as I am aware The Who has kept the bands tax affairs in the UK so really they should be applauded for doing so.

it used to kill me when I would see the tax Collector chasing some OAP who had earned £ 20 over a year more than their tax allowance and they would be hit with a bill { that could be backdated six years } and they were paying more tax than 90 % of famous UK bands who had ran for cover in Countries they may never have even visited.

Now most of us in the UK would love to run our tax affairs in a tax-efficient manner but the rules are stacked against us .