The customer services phone boxes in the Dance Village

Guest sunnydaysblue

What were they supposed to do? I'd see people laughing and talking on them but when I went over several times and rang the numbers on the poster it just dailed out and nothing happened!

I saw these and my guess was that they were designed to ring simultaneously every now and then and connect both boxes together (thus two punters together).

I install telephone systems for a living and that would be quite difficult to do - if I did it I would make them auto-call another phone on lifting the handset.

They've been doing it at Shambala for a few years - last year I found one in a portaloo and took a call as I took a...well y'know.

I was there ringing the 4 digit numbers that were pinned up inside - assumed I'd either get through to an automated voice that was funny or speak to someone (not a festival goer) but just rang out. So if other people were talking to other festival goers they would only be across the way in another box? Weird...

Yes they would just be extensions hooked up to a business telephone system that you can make 'internal' calls on. It could be done on a large scale with dozens of extensions dotted about but the big problem would be running the cables.

I install telephone systems for a living and that would be quite difficult to do - if I did it I would make them auto-call another phone on lifting the handset.

They've been doing it at Shambala for a few years - last year I found one in a portaloo and took a call as I took a...well y'know.

At shambala, if I remeber rightly, they have two sets of them in different areas of the festival. When you pick up the phone and dial it calls a phone in the other place and if someone is passing they pick it up for a random conversation.

So the trigger for it to ring is someone dialing at one end I would imagine.

Presumably when it rings out nobody else bothers picking up at the other end...i imagine that happens a lot.