Friday at Leeds has more surprises than the line-up suggested

Leeds Festival 2009 review

published: Wed 2nd Sep 2009

The Prodigy (2)

Friday 28th to Sunday 30th August 2009
Bramham Park, Leeds, West Yorkshire, LS23 6ND, England MAP
weekend £175 - SOLD OUT, £70 a day for Friday, or Saturday only
daily capacity: 55000
last updated: Thu 20th Aug 2009

I set off for Leeds feeling a little down in the dumps, some people may well shoot me down for saying this, but for me 2009 is one of the weakest line-ups on paper I've seen for a while.

around the festival site (2)
There are 2 maybe 3 bands each day I'm looking forward too, but the rest of the time I will see where my feet decide to take me, looking at the big black cloud overhead maybe not very far!

10 miles away from the site the heavens absolutely open, making my welly/leather boots decision a whole lot easier, I've seen the site at its worst in previous years so wellies are the only option for me.

We got straight into the site today, maybe something to do with the military like operation in place, with road closures and new routes, I only hope so as this is Leeds Festival, and being the victims of the mindless 'Lets burn anything that moves' morons in the past I no longer camp at this one so will hopefully be driving a couple of hours in and out everyday as long as the rain holds off and the car isn't 6 inches deep in mud when we get back to it later.

The basic layout of Leeds Festival never seems to change that much so it's always easy to get your bearing and wander off in the right direction without worrying too much about getting it wrong.

Eagles Of Death Metal
The first band of the day I want to catch are Eagles of Death Metal on the main stage but decide to chill out in the arena and catch both Fightstar, and The Rakes who are on before.

Like a couple of other festivals this year the arena seems a lot busier than it has in the past, maybe organisers pushing the capacity to the limits during hard times who knows, but I personally would like to see the size of the arenas made bigger too.

We get a tip off during The Eagles set, someone connected to the band is playing a secret set in the Radio One tent later in the day... ooooh don't you just love a good guessing game?

I decide not to take the risk of missing out and head over to the tent and find myself someone to add to my 'must get' CD list... Patrick Wolf. 'Oh My God' was my first reaction but then as Wolf writhed around the stage in his silver lycra jumpsuit engaging the crowd at every opportunity I found I was proper enjoying myself for the first time all day, Result!

In what should have been a couple of hours break in the Radio One tent line up, many people wander into the tent and the atmosphere starts to build, by the time my fave man of all time Mr. Dave Grohl takes to the stage the tent is about a quarter full, as the new supergroup on the block Them Crooked Vultures rip through their set the jungle drums at Leeds Festival must be in full swing as it doesn't take too long for the crowds to appear. I'm so carried away by Grohl, I nearly forget that there are some amazing musicians in this line up Josh Homme on vocals and John Paul Jones from none other than Led Zeppelin on bass. Suddenly the line up is looking better.

The Prodigy (2)
The Prodigy are amazing what more can I say? In my opinion they should have been above the Arctic Monkeys and finished today off in style, the crowd are truly up for it and I suddenly realise just how packed the main arena is, I've said this about the band before, whatever they have took I want some I'd be bouncing back to the car in no time tonight.

For those of you who have been to Leeds before you'll know the problems caused by the tiny entrances to and from the main arena, for me tonight with the added crowd I felt unsafe trying to get out, there was a crush that I can't explain and trust me I've been in a lot of festival crowds and moshes in my time. I would like to see this addressed for future years, if the capacity is going up these entrances need to be made wider before someone gets seriously hurt.

Being a girl and loving a bit of Gossip there was only one headliner for me tonight, and I guess that's what the crush was all about, I wasn't the only one leaving the main arena and the Arctic Monkeys behind.

I only caught the beginning of Gossip's set as I choose to make a dash for the car to try and get a clean get away from the site, but Beth Ditto has the boys just where she wants them... if only boys!!

So I head back to the car in much better spirits than when I left it this morning, for a bad line up I had a cracking day.

Roll on tomorrow.
review by: Julie Weston

photos by: Luke Seagrave

Friday 28th to Sunday 30th August 2009
Bramham Park, Leeds, West Yorkshire, LS23 6ND, England MAP
weekend £175 - SOLD OUT, £70 a day for Friday, or Saturday only
daily capacity: 55000
last updated: Thu 20th Aug 2009


latest on this festival

Leeds Festival 2021
festival details
last updated: Wed 28th Jul 2021
Leeds Festival 2021
line-ups & rumours
last updated: Wed 28th Jul 2021
Leeds Festival
festival home page
last updated: Thu 17th Sep 2020
Leeds Festival - CANCELLED 2020
festival details
last updated: Wed 13th May 2020