first events for Meltdown

acts include Yoko Ono, Sinead O'Connor, Flea & John Frusciante, and more

published: Fri 29th Apr 2005

Saturday 11th to Sunday 26th June 2005
Royal Festival Hall & Queen Elizabeth Hall, Belvedere Road, London, England MAP
around £17.50 - £30.00 dependant on event & seats - on sale 5th May
last updated: Tue 17th May 2005

The first events have been confirmed for this year's Meltdown - which this year is curated by Patti Smith. The events take place at London's Royal Festival Hall and Queen Elizabeth Hall.

Each year MELTDOWN offers a guest director the chance to produce his or her own fantasy festival, mixing artists and art forms, reflecting their own personal passions and interests.

Friday 17th June (Queen Elizabeth Hall): Yoko Ono
Friday 17th June (Royal Festival Hall): Rachid Taha with special guest Patti Smith
Saturday 18th June (Royal Festival Hall): Songs of Innocence - Protest songs and Lullabies feat. Patti Smith, Sinead O'Connor, Beth Orton, Kristin Hersh
Sunday 19th June (Royal Festival Hall): Steve Earle & Patti Smith
Wednesday 22nd June (Queen Elizabeth Hall): The Coral Sea feat. Patti Smith & Kevin Shields
Thursday 23rd June (Royal Festival Hall): Stand Bravely Brothers - A homage to Bertolt Brecht feat Patti Smith, Marc Almond, Neil Finn, Antony & the Johnsons, Dresden Dolls, London Sinfonietta
Friday 24th June (Queen Elizabeth Hall): Antony & The Johnsons
Saturday 25th June (Royal Festival Hall): Patti Smith performs Horses with special guest John Cale
Sunday 26th June (Royal Festival Hall): Songs of Experience - the work of Jimi Hendrix and the music that inspired him feat Patti Smith, Jeff Beck, Flea & John Frusciante and many more.

There's also an exhibition of Patti Smith's photos, and more events still to be announced.

Tickets are on sale from 9am on Thursday 5th May.


Saturday 11th to Sunday 26th June 2005
Royal Festival Hall & Queen Elizabeth Hall, Belvedere Road, London, England MAP
around £17.50 - £30.00 dependant on event & seats - on sale 5th May
last updated: Tue 17th May 2005


latest on this festival

Meltdown 2019
festival details
last updated: Mon 15th Jul 2019
Meltdown 2019
line-ups & rumours
last updated: Tue 11th Jun 2019
Nile Rodgers to curate Meltdown 2019
last updated: Mon 11th Feb 2019
Meltdown
festival home page
last updated: Thu 7th Feb 2019