Maximo Park prove to be the perfect end to a brilliant first day at Kendal Calling

Kendal Calling 2012 review

published: Wed 1st Aug 2012

Maximo Park

Friday 27th to Sunday 29th July 2012
Lowther Deer Park, Hackthorpe, East Cumbria, CA10 2HN, England MAP
£105 for weekend with camping - SOLD OUT
daily capacity: 8000
last updated: Thu 19th Jul 2012

After a 197 mile journey, arriving at the gates of Lowther park, the site for Kendal Calling, was a euphoric feeling. With the most friendly of stewards waiting on hand to usher you in, it was a very warm welcome. Turning up by mid afternoon Thursday we managed to miss the bulk of the traffic migrating on to the festival site, and had a leisurely stroll through the gates. We threw the tents up cracked a well deserved can and sat down taking in the majesty of the views. After an hour or so chilling out, we decided to take a little wander around to get our bearings. The main site was still being prepared and so was shut off. However, in the middle of all the camping was a hub consisting of some toilets, a nice big bar tent with live acts and DJs providing the entertainment late into the night, a few camping and provision stores and some food stalls. We didn't hang around long, instead opting for the comfort of the tent.

around the festival site

After being woken up bright and early by the heat of the sun radiating my tent to unbearable levels I crawled outside, and watched the arriving hordes packed up with their weekend supplies making their homes for the weekend, and the demographic of the crowd in attendance tended to be more familes and groups of mid to late 30's than groups of twenty somethings. I presumed this was down to the large Britpop contingent on the line-up. Yet later on I was assured this was the standard faithful of Kendal Calling, which really made for a nice chilled out vibe.

There were plenty of youngsters there getting theie kicks as well, but the relaxed vibe seemed to be ever present, which really helped make this festival what it is. Even the main arena opening an hour late couldn't dampen people's positivity.

The Minx
Opening up the main stage was Jack B, a beat boxer from neighbouring county Lancashire, quite entertaining for 5 minutes, but he didn't bring anything to the stage that we hadn't already seen being done to a higher level. Next up were The Minx, a band from the Manchester mould, with a vicious stage presence and a snarl that wouldn't look out of place in any punk band. The crowd certainly appreciate the passion being put in and go crazy for the whole set.

around the festival site
After wandering around in amazement at the amount of effort that had been put into decorating the site, we decided to chill in the Chai Wallahs tent, one of the staples of many a top festival, making there debut at Kendal. The line-up in this venue is absolutely top notch, with acts such as Yes Sir Boss, and Dreadzone being hosted over the weekend. On arrival a young girl by the name of Lucy Rose was playing, a truly breathtaking set was delivered, backed by a superb band complete with cellist, she had a wonderfully beautiful sound for a sunny day.

DJ Yoda
Back to the main stage to watch a great set delivered by DJ Yoda, with the first half of his set a mash up of classic crowd pleasers, with a hilarious video show to accompany his set. The second half saw him bringing on his friends The Transiberian Marching Band. Yet again he provided mashed up beats, but the band brought the oomph to the show with here brass band playing along, from House Of Pain to Rage Against The Machine, they smashed the show, leaving the crowd chanting Yoda's name long after the man had left the stage.

Olugbenga (Metronomy DJ Set)
We went on to the Glow tent to see what Ms Dynamite would pull out the bag? On arrival Olugbenga (Metronomy DJ Set) was mixing up a storm, and had the tent bouncing, from what I saw of his last 10-15 minutes It would have been a pleasure to catch his whole hour set. Following him onto the decks were Jaymo & Andy George, an hour earlier than expected, Ms. Dynamite had pulled out last minute. So the boys from radio1 stepped up to the plate to take a double set to save the day.

A few people left out of disappointment due to the non show, but they really missed a treat, the boys were on fire! I didn't stay for the duration as one of my must see acts for the weekend was due on stage 40 minutes into their set, and he more than proved worth it!

Scroobius Pip
Scroobius Pip came out fast and furious, I cannot understand why this man is not huge right now. Clearly miles ahead of any of his peers, his delivery of rap poetry at Kendal was sublime, with whit as sharp as a razor blade, his social commentary through lyrics is paired with a great band, who delivered a unique edgy performance leaving everybody wanting more.

Pip was a very hard act to follow, but if anyone can manage it, it was tonight's headliners. With more energy than powerball, Maximo Park come out of the blocks at lightning speed, drawing out huge sing-alongs from crowd-pleasers 'Apply Some Pressure' and 'Our Velocity'. They powered through an hour and twenty minute set proving to be the perfect end to a brilliant first day.

Maximo Park
review by: Jamie Licence

photos by: Jamie Licence

Friday 27th to Sunday 29th July 2012
Lowther Deer Park, Hackthorpe, East Cumbria, CA10 2HN, England MAP
£105 for weekend with camping - SOLD OUT
daily capacity: 8000
last updated: Thu 19th Jul 2012


latest on this festival

Kendal Calling 2019
festival details
last updated: Tue 12th Feb 2019
Kendal Calling 2019
line-ups & rumours
last updated: Tue 5th Feb 2019
Kendal Calling 2019 Line-up
video of the day
last updated: Thu 31st Jan 2019