Tinie Tempah proves the perfect end to Big Reunion Weekend 2

The Big Reunion Weekend 2 review

published: Mon 29th Nov 2010

Tinie Tempah

Friday 26th to Sunday 28th November 2010
Butlins Resort, Skegness, Lincolnshire, PE25 1NJ, England MAP
£159 ticket with accomodation - SOLD OUT
last updated: Sat 20th Nov 2010

The snow has continued overnight, leaving a light covering & the snow is still falling, we have breakfast in the chalet, watch some Saturday TV & then venture the short but cold walk to the skyline where we catch the end of The Holloways set where their bass player in true rock n roll style smashed up his bass at the end of Generator, great stuff.

Pritchard Vs Dainton
A huge crowd has been drawn to the skyline, but not for a band but for those crazy welsh lads Pritchard Vs Dainton probably more famous for their Dirty Sanchez act. They start of by smashing beer cans over their own heads, the goal being to see who can burst their can first... Dainton then takes 3 or 4 fluorescent tubes & smashes them over Pritchard's head, unfortunately from here on the set descends into murky toilet humour which we could not possibly tell you about on a respectable website, needless to say it was pretty filthy and in some places just thoroughly debauched, the final position of the drum sticks was just outrageous.

Greg James
To finish of our afternoon of fun we are played records by Radio 1's Greg James. Now in the past when the Big Reunion has had Radio 1 DJs on they have been entertaining and generally involved the audience in escapades and japes, not Greg James! No he talks about Westwood last night, a lot as it happens and plays lots of records and that's it. How someone as uncharismatic as Greg James has such a prime time slot on Radio 1 leaves us in wonder!!!

Onto the nights entertainment in the Centre Stage & the room is literally deserted for Sound Of Guns. This doesn't bother lead singer Andy deciding if the crowds won't come to him he will go to them & proceeded to walk around the room finding people to sing to, singing to a pair of likely candidates dressed in bear outfits the two bears join in with the song 'Architects' in a true rockaoke style. Sound of Guns have some great songs in their arsenal already and lead singer Andy has a truly great voice.

The Twang
The Twang swagger on stage & the crowd has grown considerably since Sound Of Guns left the stage. Twang are clearly enjoying their return to The Big Reunion and get the crowd joining in to the older songs namely 'Wide Awake' and 'Two Lovers' but the newer stuff gets a good reaction too.

Reverend Soundsystem are new to me, having seen Reverend & The Makers many a time I wasn't sure what to expect. Comprising of John Maclure and Laura from the Makers, and joined by an MC, I have to say The Reverend Sound System are a revelation and are truly difficult to pigeon hole, just when you think Maclure is getting stale he relaunches himself as with the project Mongrel & now with RSS the sound he says is for 2037 and the future of music. With heavy beats, dubstep & MCing a totally fresh sound is introduced. Definitely a highlight of the weekend and as usual with Maclure he gets people involved be that dancing, singing or even just plain old fashioned calling and answering. Great stuff.

The Courteeners
Headliner of the indie band section is Mancunian Indie fodder The Courteeners. Now I used to like The Courteeners, 'Not 19 Forever' will always be a favourite of mine as will 'What Took You So Long' and 'Cavorting', the newer stuff however, I can pretty much take or leave it. The crowd seemed to enjoy it though and the band go through a sweaty headlining, workman like set which whilst alright, I have to admit was out done by RSS earlier onÂ…

A surprise add on was a set by Tinie Tempah, which seemed to have got everyone in the campsite into a crazy frenzy with the Centre Stage rammed to the rafters & the skyline arena completely empty. They where not to be disappointed, 'Frisky', 'Pass Out' and 'Written in The Stars' are just a great end to a fab day of entertainment.

Tinie Tempah
review by: Gary Stafford

photos by: Gary Stafford

Friday 26th to Sunday 28th November 2010
Butlins Resort, Skegness, Lincolnshire, PE25 1NJ, England MAP
£159 ticket with accomodation - SOLD OUT
last updated: Sat 20th Nov 2010


latest on this festival

Big Reunion
festival home page
last updated: Fri 28th Apr 2017
The Big Reunion Weekend 2 2016
festival details
last updated: Wed 23rd Nov 2016
The Big Reunion Weekend 1 2016
festival details
last updated: Tue 20th Sep 2016