Robbie Williams Hyde Park 14th July

British Summer Time Hyde Park 2019 review

published: Fri 19th Jul 2019

Robbie Williams

Friday 5th to Sunday 14th July 2019
Hyde Park, Park Lane, Kensington & Chelsea, Greater London, W2 2UH, England MAP
varies by event
daily capacity: 65000
last updated: Wed 3rd Jul 2019

British Summer time-Robbie Williams Hyde Park 14th July. 

The festival of British Summer time came to a dramatic close Sunday night. In among the last two weeks, the legends gracing the stage have included : Stevie Wonder, Bob Dylan and Barbara Streisand. 

Set in the beautiful surroundings of London’s Hyde Park the festival is very popular with the middle classes. The food stalls etc are also matched to the more fussy customer. The place is beautiful and there are certainly worse ways to spend an afternoon/evening. 

Keane

Keane were the early evening entertainment. This was their first London gig after a seven year break and they didn’t disappoint. The set did feel really special. Lead singer Tom Chaplin is a different man to that of years ago, a confidence shines through and its lovely to see. The crowd like the new music but it the older hits that really bring a reaction. By the time the classics are pro-formed (bed-shaped, somewhere only we know, etc) its a big, big singalong. Welcome back Keane, it's been too long. 

Keane

Black Eyed Peas

The support act to Robbie is the ‘Black Eyed Peas’. There is a notable absence of Fergie and a female guest vocalist fills in. From the moment they set foot on stage the crowd are electric.They stage quite a production for a festival and the crowd are eating out of their hands. By the time they finish with ‘Where is the love’ the punters are warmed up nicely for the main event.

Black Eyed Peas

Robbie Williams

Make no mistake, the festival goers are here for the one, the only Robbie Williams. Fresh from his Vegas residency he has quite the build up with anecdotes flashing on the screen, he’s not afraid to take the mickey out of himself. He explodes on the stage with a rendition of ‘Let me entertain you’ and judging by the screams and clapping the audience are more than happy to let him do so. What follows is two hours of a glorious back catalogue littered with stories of his private life which the watchers laugh at and gladly lap up. Williams looks enthusiastic , happy, healthy and very confident back on stage. After a challenging past its great to see him back to his fantastic best.

At one point, Robbie picks out an ecstatic audience member on stage to do a performance of ‘Something stupid’. The lady is clearly overwhelmed and a hilarious tumble and exchange commences.All in all the crowd absolutely adore him and it is a sublime close the British Summertime Festival. The attendees all sing along to the crowd pleaser angels and he finishes with a rendition of ‘My way’. And yes Robbie, you certainly did! A triumphant return to form! Don’t stay in Vegas too long Robbie, I think I can hear Emily Eavis calling………….   

Robbie set list:-
Let Me Entertain You
Monsoon
Old Before I Die
Land of 1000 Dances
Candy
Come Undone
Never Forget
Sweet Caroline
It Wasn't Me
Love My Life
Eternity
Somethin' Stupid
Millennium
Hot Fudge
Feel
No Regrets
Kids
Rock DJ
She's the One
Angels
My Way

Robbie Williams

 


review by: Kristina Clark

photos by: Jason Richardson

Friday 5th to Sunday 14th July 2019
Hyde Park, Park Lane, Kensington & Chelsea, Greater London, W2 2UH, England MAP
varies by event
daily capacity: 65000
last updated: Wed 3rd Jul 2019


latest on this festival

British Summer Time 2019
photo galleries
last updated: Tue 16th Jul 2019
British Summer Time 2019
festival details
last updated: Wed 3rd Jul 2019
British Summer Time 2019
line-ups & rumours
last updated: Wed 3rd Jul 2019