Parking

stabbyjess

Hi all, I'm a newbie to the forum and a newbie to Glastonbury. Next year will be my first time and I can't wait!

Apologies as I'm sure this has been asked many a time.... When is it that I can buy my car park pass? I assume it's when I pay off the balance of my ticket but not sure. 

Cheers :)

I would worry less about where you park than where you camp. You're going to be on site for the best part of a week so want to be in a location that is closest to where you are likely to be at the end of the night.

That said, possibly the most important thing is to take a note of what field and where in it your car is parked - relative to fixed things like fences, gates and pylons.

Don't make the mistake I made years ago of just making a mental note that my car was next to a big red van.  When I came to leave the van had already gone and I spent a couple of hours pushing my wheelbarrow around the fields till I found my car.

Wherever you park, some people have suggested splitting the load, so that you can take your tent first and pitch in your desired spot without having to carry everything else at the same time.  That means that you have to come back to your car for the rest of your stuff, but at least you don't start the festival knackered by carrying 2 tons of kit in 1 go.

The last two times I've driven, we've parked very close as we arrived Tuesday night. On both occasions we got out easily,  particularly this year when we drove straight out. We were in the car before 10am each time though, don't know how much difference the time makes.

1 hour ago, stabbyjess said:

Thanks all for the advice. Much appreciated, can't explain how excited I am and it's still so far away!

I may as well let you know now, you'll be planning for the next sales on the journey home in June ;-)

And check under the car before driving off.

A few years ago { before the site was expanded over to the West - may have been 2007 }