Best route for Campervan East

Derby_Dave

Hi,

Was just wondering what the best way in for CVE? We will be coming M5 south and normally come off at J23 I think through Street and Glastonbury. As this is the first caravan Glastonbury we are not sure if this is the best way.

Any advice or knowledge please?

I normally come in from the Leeds>Bath>Frome direction (since we used to meet a mate there driving up from the South), and then pick up the purple(?) direction signs nearer the site. The roads are wide enough to cater for caravans. I've no experience to compare to the route you normally take though.

Good point incident, my route is early afternoon on Wednesday.

Edited by carlosj

Will be late morning to lunch time Tuesday I would have thought.

Without the caravan we comes off at Weston super mare and come through Cheddar etc but don't fancy that route with caravan to be honest. Was thinking more of which end of the site we would be approaching. I guess we will be far enough away anyway to follow any diversions etc.

I always go through the middle of Bristol (M5, M4, M32 into Bristol) then come out following the A37 Wells Road. Never any problems.

Incidentally, didn't we meet at The Headstocks Festival at Newstead/Annesley a few years ago? :D

Edited by Pear_Cider

How about if coming from the North? Usually head for Weet car parks in all the years that we have gone but it's also our first time in a campervan and have tickets for the East campervan fields.

We travel from York and have always gone into the west car parks, until last year when we were travelling to CVE. I don't know what possessed us to go M1/M25/whatever the road is that heads west, but we did, and it took a ridiculous amount of time. So I don't recommend that way. I think I'll crack open the road map later today and plan a route.