"I'm a serving soldier .... that normally gets applause"

Guest eFestivals

The wonderful thing about comedy at a festival is that people are quite happy to watch anyone without them having to be famous. As long as they're funny, people always leave happy.

As the sponsor of the comedy at Wychwood, I always make a point of checking some of it out. eFestivals doesn't actually have any part in the booking of the acts, that's left to the pros.

Anyway, I was there on Friday night and caught the end of the first act - more than decent enough.

Then we were treated to a story by the compere, of how he lost his job on daytime BBC TV. It was quite a tail. :lol:

Then another act came on (unfortunately I don't know who), who started with some fairly weak jokes, before things rapidly went downhill. And where it started to go downhill was here...

him: "I'm a serving solider".

audience: nothing happens

him, a bit puzzled: "that normally gets applause"

audience: two or three people clap weakly.

him: starts talking about Afghanistan, asking if anyone has been, and then telling the audience that no one has been cos it's such a shit country.

It's clear that the audience are far from impressed.

At around this point I start to leave - I've been coming down with a cold all day, and I've pushed myself as far as I can; dreadful comedy is not making me forget I'm feeling ill. I need my bed.

As I'm leaving there's some people at the back who start shouting "get off", "you're rubbish", etc. I fear the worst for that 'comedian'. Later my friends tell me that he got boo'd off.