Doing your own food

Guest Joolz

I've been doing festivals for a few years and I have been consistently appaled by the quality and cost of festival food and snacks. (there are a few exceptions! Falafel in a pitta with all the trimmings, roasted sweet nuts and fudge!) As a rule we will not eat a bought meat meal at a festival (that includes bacon butties!).

As a Chef, I've honed a selection of menus, to be eaten over the Glasto 5 day extravaganza!

Bless those lovely, thin, (naieve) youngsters who carry in burger buns, securly strapped under their bungies, atop their beer! Take pitta breads!they come vacuum packed (i.e. last longer) and don't end up any more squashed than your bridge roll/burger bun!

Fahitas (Wraps) are also top on the list, they pack flat!

You can roll up anything in them bacon and egg (with Baked Beans), stirfried chicken and you don't need a plate, apart from initial assembly. Perfect (washed hands) finger food!

BBQ's (this could be a chapter on it's own!) Burger, hmm, original, sausages, they are round (doh!) and will be guaranteed to roll of that disposable bbq you bought! Wooden skewers are another piece of kit that won't break the bank and pack easy! (You either, put a 'fence' of them around the bbq or you skewer 2/3 together using 2 ACROSS the banger. It makes turning them over easier, too! Skewers come in easy for making veg kebabs, courgette, onion, pepper, mushrooms,

cherry tomatoes abrush of oil (a small sprig of rosemary dipped in oil) salt and pepper! Also, corn on the cob, done on a bbq, magic!

Never underestimate the power of a premade FROZEN curry, and a bag of precooked rice......It keeps your beer cold and the plesant aroma, as it's heating up, make many 'friends'!