Overview 2

Homelands 2005 review

published: Wed 1st Jun 2005

Saturday 28th May 2005
The Bowl, Matterley Estate, nr. Winchester, Hants., England MAP
£56.50
daily capacity: 50000
last updated: Tue 24th May 2005

The sun suddenly burst through the clouds as I walked up through the valley from the coach park to the entrance of We love…Homelands 2005. So the weather was going to be alright afterall and the ‘sniffer dogs’…a friendly black Labrador who attempted to lick me to death on passing through the barriers. A lovely welcome!

First up was The Bravery, arriving fashionably late, they were pretty good but not being one of my favorite bands didn’t really hold my interest for too long. Then the Audio Bullys came on...

Audio Bullys

Bang Bang you shot me down! The West London boys seriously did Nancy Sinatra’s original Kill Bill tune justice and the crowd went crazy. It was a great set, although their more Hip Hop style stuff was not for me. But all in all there was definitely enough there to convince me to buy their new album ‘You just can’t’ when it comes out.



Next was Roots Manuva and I was looking forward to hearing some of Rodney Smith’s new album being one of his most self produced albums to date. Was disappointed though, it was just a bit too deep, dark and hate to say but, depressing for me. It lacked the energy I was hoping for.

Then was Los Angeles own Beck Hansen - love that voice:) They had a Happy Mondays style Bez stage dancer who was throwing out some pretty funky shapes too. Nice touch, the crowd loved it. It was great to hear some of Becks older stuff like ‘Loser’ as well as their new stuff. Being their only confirmed festival date this year I was well chuffed to have had the pleasure and their latest album ‘Guero’ has just hit my top ten most wanted albums too.

Beck

Next in the Live Arena was The Streets. I missed their Homelands 2003 appearance so was looking forward to this immensely. They put on a great show, my only frustration being the microphones were turned up so loud you could barely make out the tunes. This was especially upsetting when they played ‘Blinded by the lights’ as the rhythms and tune that go with it are pure genius and it was almost unrecognizable.

Despite the poor sound I would have liked to have seen the rest of their set as I’m a big fan and they were thoroughly entertaining but 80’s band Human League were scheduled at the same time in Arena 5.

So over to Arena 5...it was nice to hear some of their old tunes but I thought they’d have moved on more from the 1980’s. They were competent and tuneful but nothing special or exciting.

Next was over to Arena 1 to see Richie Hawtin who threw out some great tunes, then Miss Kittin also had the crowd going. Justin Robertson was on at the same time in the Strongbow rooms which was a shame as I would like to have seen him too.

Then came Plump Djs with a briliiant performance, best I’ve seen them do actually which topped off the night nicely.

All in all I found it a great year for Homelands and everyone stayed a lot later than last year, there seemed to be loads more people too... or was that just me?!

Bring on Homelands 2006!

review by Kim Gordon
photos by Rebecca Readshaw & Neil Greenway



Saturday 28th May 2005
The Bowl, Matterley Estate, nr. Winchester, Hants., England MAP
£56.50
daily capacity: 50000
last updated: Tue 24th May 2005


latest on this festival

Homelands
festival home page
last updated: Mon 25th Jan 2016
Homelands England 2000
festival details
last updated: Tue 13th Aug 2013
Homelands Ireland 2000
festival details
last updated: Tue 6th Aug 2013
Andy C
Homelands 2005 review
last updated: Thu 2nd Jun 2005
Overview 2
Homelands 2005 review
last updated: Wed 1st Jun 2005