New Order were old hat at Bestival on Saturday

Bestival 2012 review

published: Wed 12th Sep 2012

around the festival site (2)

Thursday 6th to Sunday 9th September 2012
Robin Hill Country Park, Downend, Nr Arreton, Isle of Wight, PO30 2NU, England MAP
£180 for Thu-Sun - camping sold out, premium camping £299
daily capacity: 50000
last updated: Thu 6th Sep 2012

Saturday morning and the sun is still shining over Bestival. Saturday is traditionally the main day for Bestival's fancy dress, so it was with some surprise that as we walked down to the main arena, how few people were wearing any. The theme this year is Wildlife so we put it down to the combination of a hot day and having to don furry suits that made people reluctant to dress up yet.

around the festival site (fancy dress 1)
Like many others, after a late night last night, we have decided that we are going to take a more relaxed approach to start today. Heading straight down towards the Bollywood area and the ever enticing cocktail tent, we then head to get out of the heat by having our first wander through the Ambient Forest. This is just one of the things I love about Bestival, you can be in the middle of thousands partying away to the big acts on the main stages, and yet just ten minutes away you have some of the most serene walks through the woodland. This is another area that has been expanded this year, giving the opportunity to see some of the sculptures that for the rest of the year are a part of the attraction of the country park.

In the forest there were many more people in fancy dress, either making use of the cooler shelter provided by the woods, or maybe just wanting to be more in touch with the local wildlife. For those who didn't have a costume there were also a number of workshops making headdresses and other wildlife-related items.

around the festival site (3)
The Bandstand is set on the side of one of the steepest hills on site but is worth making the trek up the hill for three reasons: first, is the real ale tent, second is the bandstand gives great views across the festival site, and third, and most importantly, at the very top is the now legendary Women's Institute Tent, who for a bargain price of 70p (anything less than £2 at a festival is a miracle) provide tea and home-baked cakes, a fitting reward for all who climb the hill. While we enjoyed cream cakes and tea we got to enjoy some of the acts there particularly standing out was Ska'd for Life a good ska covers band that even managed to get a chilled out/hungover crowd up on their feet to numbers such as 'Monkey Man' and 'Rudi'.

The Cuban Brothers
Back on the main stage Sister Sledge was just coming to an end, to give way to an act that are as much a staple of Bestival as the fancy dress. The Cuban Brothers this year have upped the show and rather than performing to recorded music now have a full live band. Following an accident where singer/MC Miguel Mantobani "bust his banjo string", he was carried out on to the stage in an ornate chair. But this did not take away from the eccentric and energetic style. This year as well as his dance duo Deep Penetration there was a guest appearance by 80's soul singer Omar best known for 'There's Nothing Like This'.

De La Soul were next on the main stage, but arriving on stage 25 minutes late and with the sun going in behind the clouds it wasn't just the temperature that dropped, with some of the crowd visibly drifting off to the sound of other stages, but once out on stage the performance picked up and the crowd flooded back, the sun even came back out from behind the clouds.

Dub Pistols
We then left the main arena in search of food but as often happens at Bestival, even the best laid plans need to be open to change. Dub Pistols were about to take to the Replay stage, with what was the biggest crowd we had seen at this venue so far over the weekend. They were probably as, if not more energetic than ever. Although plans for them to play on main stage this year were thwarted by their performance in Ibiza Friday night, I have no doubt that they will be back for Bestival again and hopefully on main stage.

Still in search of food, we found ourselves distracted yet again by the comedy tent, catching Robin Ince for a second time and Jarred Christmas. Having failed to be inspired by the offerings there we returned to the main arena, only to get distracted a third time by the excellent Death In Vegas, a band who surely deserve more success than they have up until now.

Two Door Cinema Club
By this stage in the evening, we were distinctly hungry, so forcibly stopped ourselves getting distracted by shows and went in search of food. Bestival food tends to follow the usual festival fayre of burgers, pies, Mexican and curries of various combinations. The usual suspects are all there, such as Pie Minister, Asian Grub Foundation and Le Grande Bouffe, but it's worth taking time to search around as there are a few independents who offer some good alternatives. Prices are about what you'd expect for a festival, with burgers at the £5 mark, while a full meal will set you back around £8, but again, if you're prepared to shop around there are a few places that offer meals for less. If you're after liquid refreshment, then the main arena bars will sell you a pint of Gaymers or Tuborg for £4.60, or a can of the same for £4.10. In addition to this are some fringe venues that offer a wider range of drinks, particularly the real ale bar by the Bandstand which offered a range of local ales for the same price, or the Bollywood bar which offers cocktails for £6-£10 depending on the contents. Soft drinks were about £2 for a cola, and the same for a bottle of water – which seemed a tad steep to me.

Having managed to eat something, we returned to the main stage for Two Door Cinema Club, whose bright indie rock warmed the crowd up for the headline act New Order. I've always had a bit of a love/hate relationship with New Order, loving the Blue Monday period, but struggling to enjoy their later work, and as much as I wanted to enjoy them here, I just couldn’t get into it – Bernard Sumner's voice isn't the strongest, but at times he was almost lost in the mix, and you got the impression that he was struggling to keep pace with the rest of the band. For a headliner, you'd expect a far more polished performance than this really, so we left them to it.

Bestival has so much to offer and when reviewing you often feel you need to see as much as possible, for many festivals this could take some of the enjoyment away, but with Bestival it means that you realise how diverse the festival is, and I often wonder how many go and never set foot in the main arena, or out of it for that matter.

Deciding to retire early to the campsite (well, relatively early, as it was gone midnight, but for Bestival that's early), but even back at the campsite we were still entertained, as the close proximity to Arcadia meant we could enjoy the music from there as well as the spectacle of Arcadia, particularly the mechanical cabaret with Jean Monti, performing 150ft up on one of the world's highest Sway Poles, a truly amazing show from any distance. With the success over the last two days what can Bestival 2012 put our way on its final day?

around the festival site (Arcadia)
review by: Steve Collins / Marie Magowan

photos by: Steve Collins

Thursday 6th to Sunday 9th September 2012
Robin Hill Country Park, Downend, Nr Arreton, Isle of Wight, PO30 2NU, England MAP
£180 for Thu-Sun - camping sold out, premium camping £299
daily capacity: 50000
last updated: Thu 6th Sep 2012


latest on this festival

Bestival
festival home page
last updated: Thu 16th Oct 2014
one to watch
Video of the Day
last updated: Sat 11th Oct 2014
Bestival 2014
photo galleries
last updated: Mon 15th Sep 2014

more on this festival



not logged in? Sign in here | not registered? Register here

search future festivals only   advanced search

 
most viewed pages in the last 24 hours
Glastonbury Festival 2015 line-up and rumours who's playing
last updated: Mon 20th Oct 2014
Glastonbury Festival 2015 festival listing
updated: Mon 20th Oct 2014
Download Festival 2015 festival listing
updated: Wed 22nd Oct 2014
Sziget Festival 2015 festival listing
updated: Tue 21st Oct 2014
Reading Festival 2015 festival listing
updated: Tue 21st Oct 2014
Reading Festival 2015 festival listing
updated: Tue 21st Oct 2014
most popular festivals (all pages) in the last week
Glastonbury Festival 2015 Wed 24th to Sun 28th Jun 2015
Worthy Farm, Shepton Mallet, Somerset
last updated: Mon 20th Oct 2014
Glastonbury Festival 2014 Wed 25th to Sun 29th Jun 2014
Worthy Farm, Shepton Mallet, Somerset
last updated: Wed 17th Sep 2014
Nightmare Festival 2014 Sat 1st Nov 2014
various venues, Camden, Greater London
last updated: Fri 17th Oct 2014
Glastonbury Festival 2013 Wed 26th to Sun 30th Jun 2013
Worthy Farm, Shepton Mallet, Somerset
last updated: Mon 24th Jun 2013
Download Festival 2015 Fri 12th to Sun 14th Jun 2015
Donington Park, Donington, Derbyshire
last updated: Wed 22nd Oct 2014
V Festival (Chelmsford) 2014 Sat 16th to Sun 17th Aug 2014
Hylands Park, Chelmsford, Essex
last updated: Tue 19th Aug 2014
Rebellion Festival 2014 Thu 7th to Sun 10th Aug 2014
Blackpool Winter Gardens, Blackpool, Lancashire
last updated: Wed 30th Jul 2014
C2C: Country to Country 2015 Sat 7th to Sun 8th Mar 2015
The O2 Arena, Greenwich, Greater London
last updated: Fri 17th Oct 2014
Reading Festival 2015 Fri 28th to Sun 30th Aug 2015
Little Johns Farm, Reading, Berkshire
last updated: Tue 21st Oct 2014
Shiiine Weekender 2015 Fri 6th to Mon 9th Nov 2015
Butlins Resort, Minehead, Somerset
last updated: Wed 15th Oct 2014


Festivals
Shop
About